News & Reports

Sidmouth Town Res triumph in their first ever Devon Senior cup final

Division One rivals Colyton sunk 2-0 at Coach Road Newton Abbot on thursday

Sidmouth Town Res captured the Firewatch Devon Senior cup against the odds when they overturned previously unbeaten Colyton 2-0.

The vikings were always the more likely looking side and a goal in either half from Ferenc Bodor and Scott Hughes won Devon’s oldest trophy for the first time in their history.

This competition is Devon’s oldest cup. The first ever winners were Tavistock, and among the holders over the years are Plymouth Argyle and Torquay United first teams. Sadly not Exeter City.

Both finalists have Devon Intermediate cup history. The vikings were losing finalists in the second world war beaten 3-2 by an RAF XI in the final played at Home Park 1940, Perry and Jasper getting the Sidmouth goals, but Colyton went one better in 1979 when they beat Alenco from N. Devon 3-1 at Moretonhampstead. The Colyton team that day was Bruce Collins, Richard Parnell, Len Anning, Denis Freath, Kevin Tratt, Chris Morgan, Andy Wilkinson, Alan Fry, Alan Beavis, Graham Long, Alan Payne. Sub Bob Cripps Manager Eric Pomeroy

Thursday 19th April 2018