News & Reports

Bill Slee Cup final

A new name will appear on the Bill Slee cup after tuesday nights final at Dawlish Leisure Centre. The two contestants are Awliscombe United and Devon Yeoman and will be a first appearance for both clubs. The Yeoman who are two divisions higher start as favourites, and have had to play five ties to make it through compared to the Awls three, but it promises to be very competitive. The current holders are Elmore Res who lifted the cup in 2019 when last played.

For the record Bill Slee was the League president, a hugely popular man, and of course Dawlish Town through and through. Bill donated the trophy in 1985 to the League to be played for by the winners of the Premier division cup and the Wheaton trophy, both comps long gone.

The first final was played over two legs between the eventual winners Exeter City Res and Newton St Cyres.

The following year the League changed it to a knockout cup for Senior first teams only, and it stayed like that until the foot and mouth epidemic at the start of the century. The cups were then handed over to the current East Devon cups committee.

Kick off in the 33rd final at Sandy Park is at 7pm.

Sunday 15th May 2022