News & Reports

Five substitutes next season

Click link below for 2022-23 constitution

Clubs have voted in favour of five substitutes in all divisions for the new Stitch2Print Devon & Exeter Football League 2022 23 season. Previously only three subs from a possible named five have been allowed but a new local rule will widen the options throughout the League. However the option to have rolling subs in the Intermediate divisions was not passed.

A packed America Hall at Pinhoe approved most of the League agenda tonight (friday Jun 24). Just four clubs failed to put in an appearance and were unable to collect a goody bag which included two footballs in every bag. Sadly the clubs who failed to show up will be subject to a fine as defined within SCOR.

The constitution of the League was approved with new clubs Budleigh Salterton Res, Exeter Royals, Phoenix United, and Teign Village included. Clyst Valley have rejoined from the Devon League.
Axmouth United were also accepted after withdrawing during last season, and reserve teams have been accepted from Bampton, Farway United, Lympstone, Ottery St Mary and St Martins.

However the League has said goodbye to Beer Albion and Thorverton who have been promoted to the Devon League.
They have also lost Axminster Town Res, Cranbrook United Res, Exeter Panthers, Falcons, and Kenn Valley United.

Premier champions Lapford collected another trophy. The club were voted the most sporting team by referees who mark the clubs they officiate at which has earned them the Bill Rees trophy, an award highly regarded by the League for the former late Exmouth Town legend. Voting was high and the final positions were:

87.48 Lapford
86.41 Okehampton Argyle Res
86.35 University Exeter Res
85.29 Dawlish United
84.87 Sidmouth Town Res
83.75 Lyme Regis & Thorverton
82.83 Beer Albion
82.65 Kentisbeare
82.29 Elmore Res
81.83 Colyton
81.41 Axminster Town Res
78.75 Ottery St Mary Res

Roger Spray the League treasurer and Mike Phillips the Injury Benefits officer both presented accounts which went unchallenged, but there were words of caution from Registration secretary Clive Painter that clubs will need to be patient to detach players and sign players until the fulltime League is turned over by the FA.

Finally new League Vice chairman and Fixtures Secretary Chris Cole said it was likely he would start the season on saturday August 20th for most divisions.

Click link for new constitution

2022 – 2023 constitution

Sunday 3rd July 2022