News & Reports

Lapford join the elite list

Lapford join the football legends

Lapford join the elite

Lapford football club can proudly lay claim to joining an elite list of Devon & Exeter League Premier champions now they have retained their title.
Todays 4-1 victory at Thorverton rubber-stamped their claim and few would argue with that.

Since 1900 when Exeter United were our first winners, its the 110th time the League’s major competition has been won and Lapford became only the 13th different team to retain the trophy.

Friernhay are the only club to win it four times in succession 1920 – 1923 and they also won it three times in succession 1933-1935 and again in 1937-1939.
St Lukes College also twice won the title three times in succession in 1902-1904 and then again in 1954-1956, but then comes an impressive list of teams who have all won the crown twice in succession, and some on more than one occasion.

This is the group Lapford join and what a list and just to underline these are all first teams.

St Lukes College
Tiverton Town
Ilfracombe Town
Heavitree United
Dawlish Town
Dolphin United
Exeter University
Budleigh Salterton
Exeter City Colts
and also arguably
Tap/Barrel 2003 and St Loyes 2004 (after their name change)


Monday 2nd May 2022