News & Reports

New name on Premier Division trophy

Lapford and Lyme Regis contest the League's biggest prize

A new name will be engraved on the Premier Division trophy after saturdays play off final at Topsham. The winners will become the 92nd Premier champions, and the 40th different club to lift the trophy. They will also join some illustrious names on what is regarded as the jewel in the crown for the League.

The Premier division was introduced exactly 100 years ago in 1921 and the first winners in 1922 were Friernhay our most ever successful club. Until then between 1900 and 1920 our top flight was Division 1 and the fantastic Friars team had also been champions in the two years following the first world war.
The League enjoyed 14 Division 1 championships before WW1 in which St Lukes College won it 4 times, Topsham St Margarets twice and Exeter City first team once (1905).

Since the introduction Friernhay have gone on to register as the most successful ever Premier champions 13 times, way ahead of seven times winners Exeter City Res, St Lukes College and Exeter University whose Reserve team also won it once.
Heavitree United and Dawlish Town both clocked up five championships, Tiverton Town four, five if you include their Reserves.

Three wins were claimed by Ilfracombe Town, Budleigh Salterton, and more recently St Martins.

Cullompton Rangers, Sidmouth Town, Dolphin United, Alphington, Exmouth Town Res, Exeter Civil Service and Tap & Barrel (St Loyes) have all won it twice.

One time winners in date order are Heavitree Social United, Devon General, Barnstaple Town, Barnstaple Town Res, REME, Newton Abbot Spurs, Ottery St Mary, Torrington, Crediton United, Newton St Cyres, Buckland Athletic, Cheriton Fitzpaine, Axminster Town, Thorverton, Feniton, Topsham Town, Honiton Town, Elmore Res and Exwick Villa.

Quite a list and also the possibility the trophy might dwell outside of the County for the first time everĀ  if Lyme are victorious.




Thursday 3rd June 2021