News & Reports

Referees vote Lapford the most sporting Premier team

Lapford not just champions but the most sporting team as voted for by referees

Lapford added more silverware to their cabinet when they were presented with the Bill Rees Sportsmanship shield at the recent Annual General meeting. It is the third time the club has won the trophy back to back years 1994 and 1995 but interestingly this season was with the highest mark of their three successes.

A few puzzled faces at the Annual General meeting were unaware of the shield as due to Covid it is three years on since last awarded.
The trophy was presented to the League in 1986 by the family of the late W. B. Rees a legend at Exmouth Town football club. The recipient club is presented with the trophy at the AGM to the club awarded the highest number of sportsmanship points as recorded by their match referees in the course of the season.
Older members will recall that Bill was hugely involved with the Leagues Youth Divisions at Under 18 and Under 16 level before they were disbanded.

There have been 35 winners over the years with Clyst Valley and the University topping the table with five wins. Lapford share their triple success with Okehampton Argyle and Witheridge.

This seasons marks were:
87.48 Lapford
86.41 Okehampton Argyle Res
86.35 University Res
85.29 Dawlish United
84.87 Sidmouth Town Res
83.75 Lyme Regis
83.72 Thorverton
82.83 Beer Albion
82.65 Kentisbeare
82.29 Elmore Res
81.83 Colyton
81.41 Axminster Town Res
78.75 Ottery St Mry Res

Monday 27th June 2022